Handle with Care

One of my lifelong goals has to become a known writer, possibly published one day. So at 34 years of age, I am making that leap into the world. I am new to the blog world, so I am going to get my feet wet with posting some of my first journal entry writings and go from there!! I look forward to meeting  great people with similar goals and interests!

So, this is the beginning of my writing journal. I have been instructed to keep one from the collective self-claimed wisdom of the internet to become a successful beginning writer. I suppose as to an unsuccessful beginning writer in which no one reads my writing or feels it is particularly worthy of being read.  My fear of writing is to reach into your body, grasp onto your soul, outreach your hand to a stranger to take it, love it and cherish it as you have.

These strangers simply look at your writing, the soul of you, and say “Eh, no thanks” and walk away.

That would be the singular reason why I am terrified to begin this journey and thus why I have waited the better part of 15 years to begin my writing career.

Which leads to the question,” Why does oneself write? Is it to be heard or is it to hear oneself?”

Hmm, damn, that was quite insightful. Maybe I am working my way up to one of the self-claimed writing internet gods that I so diligently follow! Consequently, I am beginning to feel the “flow” of creativeness starting so maybe I need to stop being facetious and start respecting those opinions of others. They have at least been able to transfer their thoughts into writing while mine are still buried in my mind under years of self-doubt and fear of judgment.

15 thoughts on “Handle with Care

  1. Which leads to the question ,” Why does oneself write? Is it to be heard or is it to hear oneself?” No truer a question asked Kimberly – do not self doubt but go with your gut…that’s what my posts are about and I thank you for the follow 🙂 I like your style from this post alone, I shall reciprocate:-)

  2. Willing and eager to give if needed! I have an EPub out, received the knock-backs not our genre etc so decided to give that a try. I have other books started but for some reason blogging has taken precedence! Strange but true. 🙂

  3. Ok firstly I ask that you not take what I write to heart or feel that I am being patronising for that is not my intent. My ‘income’ is the knowledge that someone in this world of ours has bought something that I have written – my words – my thoughts. Publishing the ‘old’ way is a very hard road to travel, unless you have a Literary Agent or JK Rowling status. It’s harrowing and very soul destroying. After all ‘you’ have written a best seller that everyone will love and buy. Sadly this is not the case for a lot of people.
    I decided on EPub only because of the knock backs I received ‘though you write with such warmth and humour it’s not in our genre at present’ – words that though simple, can cut like a knife to a writer. I have sold 23 books since having it published in August. EPub is an easier option but also hard in the aspect that you have to self publicise.
    We all learn we aren’t what the world is wanting to read – a humbling exercise.
    In saying all of this what you write could very well be what Publishers are looking for- either way it’s a hard slog, one that can be profitable through sales or knowledge. 🙂

    • I really appreciate your opinion on this and I have to say, I agree with you. I think that ebooks are the way to go in today’s age. I fortunately have a business background and have owned businesses in the past and currently, so I am used to the slugging it out in the marketplace. However it definitely is a daunting task, especially for writers who just want to write and be heard.

  4. That’s ok – I just didn’t want to sound condescending. I too have had my own business but this is a completely new ball game – we can but only try and strive in the hope that our voices are the loudest! 🙂 x

  5. So nice to meet you! Thanks for following my blog as we all figure this writing thing out….I’m going to take some time and check out these wonderful blogs you have on your blogroll…I will be doing a guest post on Sarah Potter’s blog http://sarahpotterwrites.wordpress.com about my experiences of hiring a writing coach….Great to have you in my virtual circle!

Leave a Reply

