Where is the damn light?!!!

12/28/12

Today is my official second day of keeping a journal entry. The extra writing practice is said to help me become a successful published author one day.  That “one day” at this point is not even close to the proverbial “light at the end of the tunnel”.

 I haven’t found the tunnel yet, let alone the light.

This is characteristic of my life- wandering aimlessly towards an unknown destination for the entirety of my life. I know that I want to get there, but I simply do not know where “that” is. My journey towards the tunnel is like making a journey from Los Angeles to New York City dragging my 34 years of baggage behind me (which equal at least 25 suitcases and not the ones with the wheels either).

As I trek across the desert with my lifelong baggage, the sun blares her eternal heat on me in hundreds of judgmental rays that each have an own voice. These voices each belong to a different critic in my childhood and adulthood. As my music blares from my headset to block out the voices, I continue on my trek with all the sweat and tears (hopefully no blood barring any mishaps) to my tunnel.

I am now in that place on my journey.

I am not new to writing in general. I felt that I have always had a gift for it, or maybe it just was the best way that I was able to communicate. I was always a quiet child and when I did talk, I typically was a nervous wreck and stuttered my way through a sentence. Writing allowed me to communicate comfortably.

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to read this. I am still getting used to the idea that someone actually wants to read my writing, let alone find it interesting.

13 thoughts on “Where is the damn light?!!!

  1. You will be amazed if not shocked what readers find interesting. I certainly am! I started late July as I, like you and a cast of thousands that NEED to write, we don’t have to have a theme a meaning. I ramble – I write whatever comes into my head and I love that people are appreciating and commenting. You do what you need to do, write how you want to write and you will have followers. Good Luck on your Journey I am sure you will do well 🙂

    • Thank you so much for reading my writing and responding! Writing in public (I make it sound so forbidden, lol) is new for me and honestly, a bit frightening. But my father died 2 months ago and I have decided that life is to damn short to wish that you had done something in your life, so here I am!

      I did think it would be harder to write than it is turning out to be….like you said, I just start and one thing leads to another and there you go! 🙂

      • You are welcome 🙂 How long have you been blogging? Sorry you may have said but I didn’t catch.
        My condolences for your father – great things however can be inspired from tragedy. Writing is wonderful, cathartic and inspiring! 🙂

      • Funny you ask, this is only my second blog, lol. I did some research on how I need to begin this writing process online and a common suggestion was to have a blog, website, and writing journal so that is how I got started! Thank you- I definitely have been using writing to express my grief through this traumatic time. Funny the different purposes that writing can have.

      • Another hint then to obtain and keep followers is to keep abreast of everyone that you follow – comment whenever you can. Your followers will have their followers and it’s a chain..one writer linking to another. That way your ‘traffic’ is increased. It can be hard work – believe me I spend hours reading and commenting. It’s simply the more you are seen the more you will be noticed 🙂 A girlfriend of my daughter suggested I start blogging – haven’t looked back since and though prolific I am obsessed! Writing from true feelings are the best form 🙂

      • Wow, ok such great advice. Thank you very much and it makes a lot of sense. I will start commenting on everyone that I have been following. I just figured out tonight how to change my topics in my blog as when I’m searching out blogs so I am coming across more writers now. Yay!

    • Thank you so much! This is literally one of the first outlets that I have used to come out of my writing “shell” and so your acceptance and approval means a great deal to me! Thank you.

  2. Darkness at the end of a tunnel is better than an oncoming train 🙂 Welcome to blogging, and thanks for following my blog!

  3. Hi Kimberley,

    I have some advice. Firstly, write something on you ‘about’ page, about yourself. Then you won;t have to keep repeating the stuff and can write something interesting. My second bit of advice is to use the ‘more’ tag after your first paragraph. If you don;t know what that, there is a rectangular thing in your editor for inserting it. It allows just the first paragraph to appear on your home page with ‘read rest of page..’ as a link after it. My first bit of advice is download Windows Live writer and use that to write your blogs. It doesn’t do the ‘more’ tag; but it does allow you to select fonts and choose headings. There are other good features too like sizing photos. You could consider using pictures too.

    You have written a couple of blog in two days, that’s a good start. When you edit, read through your post, if you are tempted to skip a bit, so will your readers and they will choose to do so.

    You should also use categories, it helps you decide what to write. I have psychology on Monday, art on Tuesday, writing on Wednesday, thrifty stuff on Thursday, Finance on Friday, a review of the week on Saturday and I just ramble on each Sunday. I manage 2 posts a day like that.

    I hope that helps a little.

Leave a Reply

