Read me, but don’t judge me.

On my third day of journal writing, I have decided to ditch the journal along with the advice of the writing gurus and just write.

So here it is.

I am getting ready to embark on writing a novel and as I had absolutely not the foggiest on how to begin, I am slowly begin to develop a game plan. I think.

And as this process formulates within me, I am still dealing with this immense fear of sharing my writing with others. Why? I don’t know. Maybe I don’t want to share my private thoughts. Maybe I don’t want to be criticized. So why the hell am I writing a blog and have aspirations of writing a novel? Because I want to be heard.

I’m just scared to death to do it.

10 thoughts on “Read me, but don’t judge me.

  1. Hi Kimberly, Are you wishing to place your Novel/writing on your site?
    We all get criticised, there will be someone, somewhere who doesn’t like what you write.
    It’s all part and part I’m afraid. I’m a little confused with this post though 😦 are you wanting to as I said put your Novel on here or are you going to keep that on the hush hush and continue writing blogs? 😦 Clarification(at least for me) please Kim πŸ™‚

    • Hi!!! Sorry for the confusion! I will definitely start posting some of my writings on here. This blog was just my way of expressing my fears in starting that process. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh there you are – now I see your photo πŸ™‚ Ok just a wee bit of advice ..keep those posts small. You will detract readers if you even put a whole Chapter at a time. If you are like me blogging will consume you more than your Novel 😦 but it’s enjoyable! πŸ™‚

  3. Kimberly, thanks for the follow and the comment. I have enjoyed what I’ve read thus far on your blog. Just writing is one of the best things new writers can do. It keeps the love of the novel alive. I’d check out The Joy of Writing, its an essay by the late Ray Bradbury. Sort of resonates with this post you’ve put together. Keep writing!

  4. Hi Kimberly…I so understand the fear of putting your writing out there….About a year ago, I had created my blog with about 25 posts on it but just couldn’t hit the publish button….Fortunately, I came into a circle of women who just kept encouraging me until I finally took the leap! But I was screaming and balled up in a fetal position in my office chair when I did! I’m the biggest chicken ever!

    • Haha! Thanks so much for sharing that with me. I truly felt the same way. I have always been a decent writer and wanted to get into writing fiction. However, I have been so terrified of putting my writing out there for the world. That first blog post was hard. But after receiving comments about it and friend ones at that…it made the next posts easier. Blogging is helping me to gradually inch out into the world with my writing. Next step is getting that novel out there. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

