The Virginal Novelist

Every writer has experienced it. The first time. The anticipation. The fear. The butterflies. The desire. The disregard of consequence.

Yep, you guessed it. I’m writing my first novel. I have a million ideas, with not a clue as to how to begin. I know I need my trusty outlines to structure out my settings, plots, and characters. It’s just the anticipation of “it”. Of doing “it”. Of creating something out of nothing. Well, not “nothing”, but nothing tangible. The fear of not doing “it” right or being judged for my lack of experience. Just as with a sexual experience, every writer desires to write that first sentence. As I begin to plan out and write my first novel, I anticipate, fear and excitedly welcome the popping of my “proverbial” cherry.

I look toward my veteran writers for any wisdom that you would like to share with me as I loose my literary virginity!

12 thoughts on “The Virginal Novelist

  1. Hey there! Thanks for following me and posting a comment. We are, indeed, in the same boat. I’ve only been blogging, what, a week and a half, but you’ll find that so many people really are interested in what you have to say. It’s kind of overwhelming at first! Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there. Publicize yourself on Facebook, email your link to people! Most of all, though, write! And remember, you deserve to do what makes you happy, and if that’s writing, then write! Take care. I hope to see more posts soon!

    • Thanks so much! I just started blogging this week as well. It is definitely a new experience and I am learning my way around! I wanted to finally start this “process” of writing publicly and so it was suggested that I start blogging. Glad to have met you and look forward to more posts from you as well!

  2. You said, “I know I need my trusty outlines to structure out my settings, plots, and characters.” Perhaps that’s the source of your fears. In fact, if you have a million ideas, I suspect that you really don’t need outlines – all you need to do is to start writing. Try it. Don’t worry about writing in chronological order. Don’t worry if all you write in any particular scene is just dialogue – or summary – or exposition – or a flashback. Don’t worry if you just write beginnings – or middles – or ends of scenes. All of this – and more – will come together in a coherent whole at some point in the future. Have faith. Believe in yourself – and in the persons you’re writing about: They’re your Imaginary Friends, and although they may have their bad hair days, they want you to tell their story, because they have faith in you. They believe you can do it. I believe you can, too. So, lie back … relax … and just do it.

    • Wow, thank you so much for the great advice! I will definitely just focus on getting my writing out if I have trouble starting this outline. Flipping through blog posts I see where some authors prefer the structure of an outline while others just write. I feel that I tend to lean toward structured writing just because I loose focus and lack attention too easily if I don’t have a structured goal hahaha! But its good to know that its ok to stray away from the structure to get that creativity flowing.

  3. Ask and you shall receive – hopefully everyone will be able to add a little something – advice – a line.. but as Christine said – just write.. don’t worry about punctuation, grammar, editing – that comes so much later. Sit at your keyboard and pound the keys. Be the characters individually take on their personas. If you don’t feel like writing don’t push yourself, have music playing hell even hire an orchestra whatever it takes to help the creative juices flow. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hey there, I am also nervously wanting to begin my first novel. have the ideas but not the time. I’ve been blogging for a few years but want to step it up. Thinking of doing a creative writing course, will see what happens. Good luck, keep at it.

    • Hello! Thanks so much for the comment! Good luck on writing your novel as well. As I am going through the same experience currectly, my best advice is just to dive into it. I’ve spent the past few weeks brainstorming ideas and am about ready to start outlining. Some people just write, but I need a plan to follow because I wonder too easily. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

