OBSESSED!!!!

So, I have decided that I am officially OBSESSED with the characters in my non-existent novel. Let’s please emphasize the word, non-existent. I seriously don’t even have a word written or an outline constructed yet.

 I just drove 5 hours from being out of town and I can’t stop thinking about them! I wake up in the middle of the night and I can’t stop thinking about them. I believe that it is enough, you get the picture without making myself sound like a complete psychotic mess!

Honestly, I am just amazed at how an idea implants itself in your brain and then it keeps growing and adapting and changing and getting larger and eventually developing into a huge project, aka a novel. This is my first time experiencing this “high” of beginning a new novel so please bear with me! I know halfway through I will be over it and want to start a new one. But I can definitely understand how many writers express how they become attached to their characters and view them as friends or are sad when they are killed off in the plot. At first I thought that sounded a bit bizarre, but now, I completely get it. You become attached to these “people” considering they are all that I have thought about for the past 48 hours!!!

If there is anyone that can empathize with my new obsession, I would greatly appreciate that you comment on my post so I can take some bit of comfort that I have not completely lost my mind!

22 thoughts on “OBSESSED!!!!

  1. So not alone 😉
    I cried for a character recently when her life took an unexpectedly depressing turn and she weathered it the same she always weathers the trudging unfair mess her life is. I cried for her the same way I would if a friend had just told me the same story from her actual life.

    • I’ve had that weepy thing happen, too, while writing a scene that ended up towards the end of the first book (and also during the 2012 NaNoWriMo, when I wrote the last chapter of my new book). But what was amazing was hearing from a reader who said that she cried, too! It reminded me of when I played the tragic ingénue lead in a college theatre production almost forty years ago, and I heard people in the audience sobbing during one of the scenes.

  2. Hi. You are definitely not alone. You are right, it is strange how characters in one’s head can really infiltrate your mind. The “high” of a new project is great. Enjoy it!
    –JW

  3. You’re definitely not alone! I like to call it the “honeymoon” stage of your relationship with your characters. At first everything seems awesome, but watch out when they start misbehaving. 😉

  4. This is the first step! Everyone starts out obsessed with the characters or plot or main idea. That’s where it all starts. The hard part is developing the details that go along with the story. Keep it up!

  5. I can totally relate as well. I don’t want to turn this into some sort of shameless plug, but I recently had to revive some crazy teenagers I created ten years ago. Now they have a whole blog dedicated to them.

    So I’ll emphasize: this is not a plug; this is an attempt to empathize!

  6. My characters often take control of the story away from me as well, very willful, but not every writer goes through that. I can’t imagine what it’s like, but a friend of mine has many published short stories and works as an editor at a small press. She claims her characters never do anything she didn’t intend from the outline and has no idea what it’s like when the rest of us go on about characters having a will of their own. In short, you might not experience that, especially if you are a heavy outliner, and there’s nothing wrong with that 🙂

    I also wanted to comment about the pen and paper by bed thing. My bed is not set up for that, so I often have to go to another room to record something that pops in my head or dreams. I read an interesting bit awhile back with an author admitting she shares her night-time notes directly with her bedroom wall. It’s easier than a notebook, especially in the dark. Not sure where she keeps the pencil though, and I’d love to see the wall, bet it looks fascinating 😀

    We need to repaint before we move anyway, maybe I’ll start keeping a pencil tucked between the mattresses?

    • I hope that I can let my characters take one a mind of their own as I typically am a control freak and will most likely have a heavy outline, lol. Love the idea about writing on the wall….I am learning we need to write ideas down whenever we get them!!!

  7. Obsession, I think, Is the main point of character driven fiction. Sounds like you have a good handle on your characters. As to the heavy outlining, if you visisted my blog, you know that I am a heavy outliner. The neat thing is becomeing obsessed with your characters as Kim has done. And believe me, you can do all the outlineing in the world, but when the characters take over, things get interesting, and a heck of a lot more fun.

    As to the notes on the wall, I think that is a great idea! Especially if you don’t have room for a small writing desk as I do. Either way, having a way to record your dreams or ideas as they spring to life is a worthwhile investment. Even a small notepad. I learned this from my father who was a very successfull design engineer.

    • Thanks so much for the great reply! I am glad that I am not the only planner out there! 🙂 I wish I could be more of a pantser but my mind wonders too much and my writing would have no focus!!!

Leave a Reply

