Breaking News Alert! Missing Writer Found Alive in Her Home After 17 Months!

“This morning, shortly before dawn, the missing novelist, Kimberly Mellor, was found on WordPress posting her first blog in a year and a half. Authorities state that she explained that life kidnapped her and she was able to escape unscathed with the exception of a slightly bruised ego.”

Hello, friends. I am back. After a year and a half absence, I am back to blog and to continue the journey of writing my first novel. I would love to report that I have indeed been kidnapped and have a fantastic story to accompany with exciting details. Unfortunately, that is not the case.

Was I snatched up in the parking lot of the local grocery store after a late night shopping trip?

No.

Did I mysteriously disappear after my routine morning jog?

No. (And as my daily jog involves walking on my treadmill in my home, this likelihood is even less).

Simply put, my life has kidnapped me and held me hostage for the past 17 months. And I have let it.

Since I wrote my last blog, I am now happily married and my husband and I have closed one business and started 4 others. And among various other twists and turns in life, I let my writing unfortunately take a back seat to my life. I know that this is a common struggle with writers, the life/writing balancing act. As it appears, I have been less successful than others at the moment.

So I have pulled myself back out of the “hole” and I am moving towards the bright light in the sky once again. No, not the sun. My gleaming perpetual novel. And yes, some days I do view it as this shiny object far in the sky that I am ever struggling to reach and touch. But even though I can’t yet touch it, I continue to desire it deeply. Welcome back, me.

Not only have I missed writing, but I have missed reading and learning from my writer friends. So here is to another opportunity to blog about my journey as I begin my first novel. I look forward to hearing from all of you! Please share with me your struggles on balancing life with writing. Any tips you have for me and my fellow newbie writers are much appreciated!

8 thoughts on “Breaking News Alert! Missing Writer Found Alive in Her Home After 17 Months!

  1. Congrats on getting married and starting up new businesses. I’ve been kidnapped by life recently too, but I’m determined to start writing again more regularly πŸ™‚

  2. The balancing act is one we all struggle with, I think. A tip I hear again and again here in the blogging world is start small. Set a small writing goal – whether it be minutes per day or word count, and try to stick to it every day. It’s a matter of finding what works best for you and making that commitment. Best of luck πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Kimberley πŸ™‚ Congratulations on all the wonderful things that have happened. Life does have a habit of kidnapping all of us, good luck on completing your first novel! I’m looking forward to reading about your progress πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

