Oh, you are up at 3am? You must be writing your novel.

tired pic

Hello, writing friends. I am writing you with a nice, refreshed mind this morning. Unbelievably, I actually slept a full night last night and didn’t wake up to write.

Not even once!

For the past week, every night I would go to bed around midnight and every morning I would wake up at 3am.

Monday.

Tuesday.

Wednesday.

I would lay in bed and my novel would slowly creep into my head as much as I mentally protested it and then, it was all over.  I was wide awake and by 7am, I had pages of research notes taken or had worked on my outline.

So as a result, by last night I had a total of 9 hours of sleep over three days (minus an hour here or there for a catnap due to exhaustion), I was on the brink of delirium. Maybe I slept last night not because my body was returning to its original, pre-writing being, but because I was simply exhausted.

So I suppose tonight we will see which of my theories are correct. I sure am hoping for the first. 

After my experience with writer’s insomnia this past week and in the past when I write, I am curious to this phenomenon. I suppose that you are mercy to the “muse” and need to respect, listen and be a slave to her whenever she beckons, even at 3am.

And the worst part of this whole debacle is, I actually enjoyed writing in the middle of the night. My mind is clear and the world is quiet. A beautiful, balanced place for writing.

This saddens me greatly though because I depend on sleep like a child and if I don’t get at least 7 hours a night, I am a dysfunctional human being. However, even more than my desire for rest, is my desire to become a successful writer. So here is to many more early mornings and tired afternoons!

Let me know if you struggle with writer’s insomnia as well and how you cope with it!

 

6 thoughts on “Oh, you are up at 3am? You must be writing your novel.

  1. I think I’m lucky that my Muse enjoys a good night’s sleep as much as I do. 😉 Even when I wake up in the middle of the night, we’re not likely to give more than a passing thought to the stories and characters. But I hope she’s not reading this post, too, and getting any ideas from you! 🙂

  2. I can certainly sympathize with not getting enough sleep! Your enthusiasm is awesome. Here’s my take (your mileage may vary): It sounds to me like you might be letting the writing manage you, rather than you managing it. The muse comes and goes, but the regular writer–especially the part-timer, like me and I’m guessing, you–puts in the time whether Ms./Mr. Muse is around or not. I suggest setting yourself a more regular schedule and then, if the muse awakens you, make a note of the idea and flesh it out during your regular writing time. That way, you’ll get more sleep and avoid burnout.

Leave a Reply

